For Find my device to work and allow you to locate your missing Windows 11 device, you’ll also need the Windows Location service enabled and turned on. Find my device works for any Windows device, such as a PC, laptop, Surface, etc. The feature needs to be turned on before you can use it. Once enabled, any time you attempt to locate the device, users using the device will see a notification in the notification area. You can then use Windows location service to pinpoint where the device is on a given map within your Microsoft account online. Below is how to turn on Find My Device in Windows 11.

How to enable find my device in Windows 11

As mentioned above, Windows uses Find my device to help you locate your Windows 11 device if it’s lost or stolen. To use Find my device to locate your missing or stolen Windows 11 device, the Windows Location service must be turned on, and you must be signed in as an administrator using your Microsoft account. When you set up a new device, you can decide whether to turn on or turn off the Find my device feature in Windows 11. Before turning to Find my device on, make sure that you’re connected to the internet and that Windows location service is turned on and enabled. To enable Find my device in Windows 11, follow the steps below. Windows 11 has a centralized location for the majority of its settings. From system configurations to creating new users and updating Windows, all can be done from the System Settings pane. To get to System Settings, you can use the Windows key + I shortcut or click on Start ==> Settings as shown in the image below: Alternatively, you can use the search box on the taskbar and search for Settings. Then select to open it. Windows Settings pane should look similar to the image below. In Windows Settings, click Privacy & Security, then on the right pane, and select the Find my device tile. Then toggle the button to the On position to enable this feature. Now that Find my device is enabled, you can exit the Settings app. To locate your missing or stolen device: That should do it! Conclusion: This post showed you how to turn on or enable Find my device in Windows 11. If you find any error above or have something to add, please use the comment form below.